Ordre de la tulipe

L’ORDRE DE LA TULIPE
HONORE LES GRANDS AMIS DU FESTIVAL CANADIEN DES TULIPES

Le Festival canadien des tulipes a créé l’Ordre de la tulipe pour reconnaître les personnes et les groupes qui ont contribué à assurer l’épanouissement du Festival au cours des dernières décennies. Les groupes et les personnes qui ont été honorés lors de l’investiture de l’Ordre de la tulipe reçoivent une épinglette de tulipe distinctif ainsi qu’un certificat pour commémorer leur adhésion à l’Ordre.

Barbara Karsh, l’une des premières récipiendaires, a reçu l’Ordre de la tulipe au nom de son défunt mari Malak, cofondateur du Festival canadien des tulipes. Avec sa photographie incroyable, Malak a contibuer à ce que la ville d’Ottawa obtienne son titre de « Capitale de la tulipe de l’Amérique du Nord ».

Les anciens présidents de la Chambre de commerce du Grand Ottawa ont été reconnus pour avoir soutenu le Festival puisque la Chambre, également cofondatrice, a l’honneur d’avoir lancé le premier Festival canadien des tulipes dès 1953.

Parmi les autres bénéficiaires au cours des années, on retrouve les présidents de Tourisme Ottawa, de la Commission de la capitale nationale pour la plantation de milliers de plates-bandes de tulipes chaque année, les maires des villes d’Ottawa et de Gatineau (anciennement Hull) pour leur soutien financier et en services. Et bien sûr, les anciens et présents présidents/directeurs exécutifs du Festival dont la vision et le leadership ont guidé cet événement jusqu’à sa stature internationale actuelle.

L’Ordre de la tulipe a deux niveaux de reconnaissance. Le « Membre honorable » reconnaît les personnes de l’extérieur à la région de la capitale nationale qui ont offert leur amitié au Festival alors que la désignation « Membre » reconnaît les individus dans la région.

Cette année, 14 présidents passés et présents de la Chambre de commerce d’Ottawa seront intronisés lors du Vernissage de l’exposition le 12 mai 2017.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Order of the Tulip”

Honouring Great Friends of the

Canadian Tulip Festival

The Canadian Tulip Festival has created the “Order of the Tulip” to recognize individuals and groups who have been instrumental in ensuring the flourishing of the Festival over the last number of decades. Groups and individuals who have been honoured in the investiture of the “Order of the Tulip”, receive a distinctive tulip pin and certificate to commemorate their membership into the Order.

Barbara Karsh, one of the first recipients, was given the “Order of the Tulip” on behalf of her late husband Malak, who was a co-founder of the Canadian Tulip Festival. With his incredible photography, Malak put Ottawa on the map and helped the city earn its title as the “Tulip Capital of North America”.

Past Chairs of the Greater Ottawa Chamber of Commerce have been recognized for supporting the Festival since the Chamber, also a co-founder, has the distinction of presenting the first Canadian Tulip Festival in 1953.

Other recipients through the years include Chairs of The Ottawa Tourism and Convention Authority, the National Capital Commission for its planting of thousands of tulip beds every year; mayors of the Cities of Ottawa and Gatineau (previously known as Hull) for their financial and in-kind Festival support; and of course past and present presidents/executive directors of the Festival whose vision and leadership have guided this event to its present international stature.

The “Order of the Tulip” has two levels of recognition. The “Honourable Member” recognizes individuals outside of the National Capital Region who have offered their friendship to the Festival while the “Member” designation recognizes individuals within the Region.

This year, 14 past and present Chairs of the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce will be inducted into the “Order of the Tulip” at a special celebration on the Festival’s opening night, May 12, 2017.

Start typing and press Enter to search